Skip to content

Cook County Property Taxes: South & Southwest Suburbs

Cook County and Property Taxes

All properties in Cook County are reassessed on a triennial schedule. Every three years, the new valuations – along with appeals, exemptions, local tax levies, and assessments of nearby properties – determine the amount of future property tax bills.

The Assessor’s Office, the Board of Review, the Cook County Clerk, and the Cook County Treasurer all play a role in the property tax system.

In addition to setting property values, the Assessor’s Office collaborates with other government agencies to stimulate economic growth, develop tax relief proposals, increase the amount of affordable housing in the county, and make the tax system more equitable.

Cook County Townships

For the purposes of reassessment scheduling, the 30 townships within Cook County are divided into three groups: north/northwest suburbs, south/southwest suburbs, and the City of Chicago.

Each township’s government provides a set of core services to its residents. These usually include road maintenance, issuance of building permits, and processing of tax exemption applications. All of these functions are financed by property tax revenue.

Some township governments offer community mental health services and social programs. They also maintain recreational areas and perform other functions beyond the core services. Property tax revenue is a source of funding for these local programs and services as well.  

Taxpayers can access statistics about their township via the Cook County Assessor’s Office website, including median sales ranges for different property classes of residential real estate.

South and Southwest Suburbs

The townships of Bloom, Bremen, Calumet, Cicero, Lemont, Lyons, Oak Park, Orland, Palos, Proviso, Rich, River Forest, Riverside, Stickney, Thornton, and Worth all fall into the south suburbs grouping.

2017 was the previous assessment year for these townships. They are being reassessed in 2020. They will be reassessed again in 2023.

Some cities in the South and Southwest suburbs are split between two townships. While others are fully contained within a single township.

If you’re uncertain of which township your city is in, here are a few cities that are located within the 16 south/southwest suburbs townships:

  • Bloom Township – includes Glenwood (south side), Lynwood, Chicago Heights, Ford Heights, Sauk Village, South Chicago Heights, Stager, Park Forest (east side), Flossmoor (east side), and Homewood (south side)
  • Bremen Township – includes Oak Forest, Midlothian, Crestwood (south side), Robbins (south side), Posen, Markham (west side), Hazel Crest (northwest side), Country Club Hills (north side), and Tinley Park (east side)
  • Calumet Township – includes Blue Island and Calumet Park
  • Cicero Township – includes Cicero
  • Lemont Township – includes Lemont
  • Lyons Township – includes Lyons, La Grange, Western Springs, Hinsdale, Summit, Justice, Hodgkins, Burr Ridge, Willow Springs, Bedford Park (west side)
  • Oak Park Township – includes Oak Park
  • Orland Township – includes Orland Park, Orland Hills, and Homer Glen     
  • Palos Township – includes Palos Hills, Palos Park, Hickory Hills, and Palos Heights (west side)
  • Proviso Township – includes Stone Park, Melrose Park, Berkeley, Bellwood, Maywood, Forest Park, Brookfield (west side), La Grange Park, Westchester, Broadview, Hillside, Oak Brook (east side), and Elmhurst (east side)
  • Rich Township – includes Flossmoor (west side), Olympia Fields (west side), Matteson, Richton Park, University Park, Olympia Fields, and Park Forest (west side)
  • River Forest Township – includes River Forest
  • Riverside Township – includes North Riverside, Riverside, and Brookfield (east side)
  • Stickney Township – includes Bedford Park (east side), and Burbank
  • Thornton Township – includes Riverdale (south side), Dolton, Burnham, Calumet City, Lansing (north side), Thornton, East Hazel Crest (east side), and Homewood (north side)
  • Worth Township – includes Hometown, Oak Lawn, Chicago Ridge, Worth (east side), Palos Heights (east side), Alsip, Marionette Park, and Blue Island (west side)

Property taxes unappealing…we can help!

Appealing your property taxes is one way to ensure that the amount you pay is fair whether you live in the north/northwest suburbs, south/southwest suburbs, or in the City of Chicago.

At present, Illinois is second only to New Jersey with the highest effective property tax rates in the United States. Cook County residents saw a 10% increase to the average 2017 property tax bill with suburban tax increases coming in as high as 6.5%. 2018 also saw property tax increases throughout the Chicagoland area.

Staying on top of your assessment notices and researching local appeal procedures can help homeowners avoid being overburdened with property taxes.

Appeal.Tax can prepare your property tax appeal and handle it from start to finish. There is no fee unless a reduction is obtained. And we only charge a small portion of the overall tax savings secured. 

Since 2015, we’ve saved Illinois property owners over $100 million in reduced property taxes. Contact Appeal.Tax today to discuss your Association, residential, or commercial property tax appeal. Tax Attorney Timothy Jacobs can be reached at 847-777-7270 or

Leave a Reply